Help deciding on a job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dentistry.masterd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I have 2 job offers that I'm trying to decide between and as a newer dentist, any advice or help would be appreciated. I'm a general dentist btw.

Current back ground: I mainly do fillings, crown/bridge and a lot of dentures (which I hate doing). My offices don't do any endo so I have basically no endo experience. I also only really do very limited simple extractions. I'm one year out from school and trying to decide on a job that I can stay at for longer than a year and get more experience to become well rounded.

Here are the 2 offers I am trying to decide between which are both in big metropolitan areas:

1) I would be going between 4-5 different offices, 1 year contract, need to give 90 day notice, 33% collections, 33% lab fees. Pt population is about 70% kids/30% adults. Owner would mentor and help get me up to speed with working with kids as I don't really see kids right now at my current job. no restrictive covenant.

2) I would be at one office, 90 day at will "trial period" where owner can let me go if I'm not at the speed they want me to be at essentially. 27% adjusted production is I produced at least $3,500/day or if it's below that my adjusted production pay would be 26%. daily minimum of $600/day for first 3 months then $500/day for the next 3 months. Pt population is adults, no medicaid pts. 5 mile restrictive covenant for 2 years. They said the lead dentist would help mentor but not sure what type of mentorship exactly and to what extent as I interviewed with the owner and not the lead dentist that the owner hired.