Help - any suggestions appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ToulouseFan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is to anyone who has gotten themself into (and out of) a difficult situation that was created by poor choices. Any suggestions are much appreciated.

I am a 3rd year medical student who chose medicine for the wrong reasons and have thusfar been unable to leave medicine because of fear. Typical story: father physician, interest in psychology and helping people, scholarship to medical track in college & medical school, followed the money and ignored the signs of incompatability with career choice (medicine). Enjoyed psychology/psychiatry-related courses and barely passed, sometimes did not pass, other courses (biochem, anatomy, etc). Psychology grades in college/medical school/psych rotations were A's but other courses/rotations were C's with a few B's.

Depression/alcoholism/obesity/not picking up the phone/studying more to be able to get C's = not answering phone calls/fatigue/social isolation. For the past 7 years. Yeah, quite stupid. Now $110,000 in debt. Considering minimal wage & the economy, my only idea was to stay in medicine until paying off debt (possibly 6-7 years in the future). This idea adds more hopelessness, but seems to be a responsible alternative for getting myself in this mess in the first place.

I honestly enjoy my psychiatry rotations and want to help people help themselves in their management of mental illness. Attendings and professors have reported that I have empathy, good listening skills, and a good broad knowledge of psychiatric resources & techniques. The problem is, as it has been for a long time, that even though I enjoy long-term learning about psychology and working in the mental health field, the medical part of psychiatry is killing me and I need to get out.

Any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.