Help!!! Advice Needed Asap

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JETER

Super Educated, I'm Smarter than Spock
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thank you for reading this thread. I find myself in one helluva pickle now. Briefly, I am a graduate student (Masters) in chemical engineering. This is my second year, and I was planning on defending my thesis this May.

My advisor and I have had some issues last year, but I had assumed that they were resolved. However, I presented my progress reports for the two projects that I have worked on for the past 6 months, and he totally trashed them. In fact, he sent the email to everyone on my project, as well as the faculty. He was highly insulting, and I am devestated. Basically, I will have to restart my entire project, and I have only a year left.

I applied this cycle to 25 MSTP schools. My stats are ok: Dual major in chemE and physics (3.6) and I have a 4.0 grad gpa with 32 mcat. I have spoken with the PI on both projects, who has worked as a moderator between me and my adivsor several times. His advice until now has been to resolve the issues. But he spoke to my adivsor today, and the PI's advice is now to change my program (i.e., join another research group in ChemE, or join another department). But I want to be done by august so I can leave for medical school (IF I can get in). I don't think that I can enter another research group and complete a new thesis in 10 months. Also, my adivisor has made it clear that he will not accept my current work. It is so frustrating how he has never presented these issues during our weekly meetings and chats. One year of research down the f*%&ing drain.