Hello from a pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

raindrop

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am a retail pharmacist stopping in to say hello. I'd like to know how much time do pre-med students spend learning about how to write prescriptions. I'm not referring to how legible you can or cannot write; that's an individual characteristic ;)

More specifically, is there a class (or classes) that you take in school regarding proper prescription writing? Such as, to remember to put a date on each Rx, to put the correct patient's name, to indicate clearly what medicine you want, etc?

I know it sounds like child's play to write out a Rx, but in the pharmacy, we could tell you horror stories of scripts we've seen.

I see prescriptions all the time with missing patient name, missing Sig, missing quantity, etc. I'm not even counting the many barely-legible ones! There are other issues as well.

I once had a patient, "Bob Jones" The prescriber did not put a date of birth on any of the many scripts he gave the patient. After a few months, it was discovered, by accident, that the doctor was writing for Bob Jones Jr, who was about 30 years old. The person presenting the scripts was Bob Jones Sr, who was 55. The elder Mr Jones would say the Rx's were for him because he had insurance, while his son did not. As a result, many prescriptions were fraudulently billed to the elder's insurance.

Here are 4 scripts I received last week. They were for the same patient, written by the same doctor. I blacked out the patient's info (for HIPAA reasons) and the name of the PCP. The PCP wasn't the one who wrote the Rx's. The prescriber was that squiggle - (it was up to me to figure out what the squiggle said!)

Anyway, can you see the errors in each of these scripts?
pred.jpg
florinef.jpg
atro.jpg
albut.jpg

Members don't see this ad.