Headache/Migraine Management

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PinchandBurn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys

I'm an interventional Pain Physician. I get referrals for various pain procedures from neurologists for blocks,etc primarily for Headache/Migraine mgt.

Question I have is, why do you guys get MRV, MRA of the brain? Obviously I know why you get a MRA (to r/o tumors,etc). With a MRV are you guy trying to r/o a thrombosis of some sort? Why the MRA then as well?

Just curious,Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Yep, you are correct.

As headaches can potentially be dangerous, and can potentially have a fairly unremarkable exam, neurologists love radiological studies for their workup.

At any rate, the MRV is to rule out a venous/sinus thrombosis, the MRA is to check for aneurysm, AVM, AVF, tumor etc, and the MRI is for non-vascular, and more generalized pathology. Thus, the arterial imaging alone wouldn't always help if seeking out a disorder in the venous system. However, sometimes these patients have already had a CTH/CTA prior to an MR study, in which case one might be better served by simply ordering an MRI/V and leaving the MRA out of the equation.

Yep, you are correct.

As headaches can potentially be dangerous, and can potentially have a fairly unremarkable exam, neurologists love radiological studies for their workup.

At any rate, the MRV is to rule out a venous/sinus thrombosis, the MRA is to check for aneurysm, AVM, AVF, tumor etc, and the MRI is for non-vascular, and more generalized pathology. Thus, the arterial imaging alone wouldn't always help if seeking out a disorder in the venous system. However, sometimes these patients have already had a CTH/CTA prior to an MR study, in which case one might be better served by simply ordering an MRI/V and leaving the MRA out of the equation.