[H] UCSD 7year B.S./PharmD program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ttlu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm relatively new to the forums. I recently came to the realization (after weeks of thinking about my future) that I really want to become a pharmacist. I will be an sophomore at UCSD in the fall. I've been looking into UCSD school of pharmacy's 7 year b.s./pharmd program which accepts applications during summer after sophormore year.

Does anyone have any information regarding how difficult it would be to get into this program?
Are there any UCSD students out their who applied to this or are planning to?

my major is Biochemistry/chemistry and my gpa right now is 3.223, and i need to raise it to 3.5 to be eligible. I'm taking 24 units this summer in 2 session to try to raise it.

Is there a path I should follow to get into pharmacy school in case i do not get into this program?
I'm planning to apply to CVS pharmacy this summer, is their any specific skills that i would need? is the PTCE required to work at cvs as a Pharm tech? Also, my main concern about pharmacy school are the letter of recommendations... sadly i do not know any of my professors personally, so im totally lost as to how i will get those letters. I'm a fairly shy person too, and i'm hoping my public speaking class next fall will help me with that. How did you guys become close enough to professors that they would write you a rec?

Sorry for asking so many questions. I'm just really lost as to how I will manage to get into pharmacy school in 3 years. it seems like a really difficult feat and i really want to be a pharmacist :(

Members don't see this ad.

A B.S. won't be too useful for a PharmD. I talked to the asst. dean of pharmacy about whether I should get a BS in pharmacology/toxicology along with my PharmD, and she said it's not worth the extra work.