Guys...What is next? FEEDBACK NEEDED

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JaySmoove

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
whats up fam! I stated a new thread a few months ago (before the fall semester started) entitled, "advice on my next move". In that thread, I told you guys what my current GPA was (2.8) and and that I planned on retaking some classes before I graduated. Everyone pretty much said to "kick ass" on the MCAT and in the classroom this fall and spring. I can certainly say that I did just that this semester. Prior to this semester I had a 2.8 and now I have a 3.1. I retook general Bio and got an A. I retook general Chemistry and got an A. I took Orgo I for the first time and got an A. And I took an upper division biology class and got an A also. (4.0 guys!!) I'll do the same next semester and on the MCAT. I have one major concern though. THE AMCAS GPA. they are going to MURDER my GPA. Im probably looking at having about a 2.8 after they finish with it. Will this matter much considering the huge jump in academic performance?
Yo, the 2.8 isn't a death sentence, especially if there is a good reason for it. You are definitely on a good start. Try to get as many 4.0s as possible to show that you have the intellectual capacity to handle a med school curriculum, and that you've already been exposed to the material so it should be easier for you the 2nd time around.

I had a 2.8 for my first couple years of college due to some pretty mitigating circumstances. To make up for my academic mediocrity, I decided to get 4.0s from then on and even stayed an extra year so my AMCAS would reflect sustained As in my most medically relevant courses (Ochem, biochem, immuno, genetics, hem/onc etc.) I ended up pulling my gpa from a 2.8 to a 3.35.