Guide or Resources for Prescribing Opioids in the Hospital

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MNCASC

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone have a good guide, resource, or chart on how you treat pain for inpatients? In particular, opioid pain meds. I'm a new intern and am developing some experience but would like some good resources and advice.

Members don't see this ad.

@tantacles may know better than I do.

I'm sure there may be a comprehensive source but post some examples and we can weigh in. Oftentimes it's a few common scenarios you need to know as opposed to getting bogged down in a comprehensive source.

This helps a bit.

This is what the main stuff I knew as an intern.

Spectrum:
Tramadol - ensure no seizure hx or serotonergic contraindications (etc. bipolar 1, multiple other serotonin agents on board). also there's a lot of heterogeneity and doesn't work the same for everyone
Codeine - i dont use it often
Morphine - namely given as PRN q2 as continuation in ER is where I see it have its biggest role. look out for stacking in renal failure
Oxycodone- the king, x1.5 potency of morphine, longer dosing interval means its the take-home med, same stacking in renal failure
Fentanyl-IV short acting. Patient will tell you that IV med helped but then it started hurting again. One option in renal failure.
Dilaudid- I used this a lot in calpiphylaxis mainly seems to help more than fentanyl. That's the main use. Oftentimes its given to chronic pancreatitis patients coming in with their 20th pancreatitis "flare" s/p 3 celiac plexus blocks.

1.) The dose conversion tables are important. Put it on a laminated index card, hole punch it, and carry it on a ring.