Green Card while on J-1 Visa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FaddyAcids

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
if an IMG gets a green card during the residency while he is on J-1 Visa, can he switch to permanent resident and therefore does not have to go back to his home country or work in an underserved area after residency???

Members don't see this ad.

if an IMG gets a green card during the residency while he is on J-1 Visa, can he switch to permanent resident and therefore does not have to go back to his home country or work in an underserved area after residency???

It may be waived.

Here is the link. They can deny you of course.

My understanding was that nothing other than a J waiver job voids the 2 year requirement. This would include marrying a US citizen, winning the GC lottery, etc.

Then again, I'm not a visa lawyer.

Members don't see this ad :)
The answer is no. A green card cannot be obtained while under a J1 visa, only H1B will allow you to do this. Thus the only method of avoiding returning to your home country is a J1 waiver.

What about J-1 visas given for clinical electives? Are they subject to the same law in which the visa holder can't return to the states within he next two years? Any idea?

What about J-1 visas given for clinical electives? Are they subject to the same law in which the visa holder can't return to the states within he next two years? Any idea?

If you're just coming to the US for 1-2 months of electives, you should try to come on a student F visa. Should you actually get a J visa for a short period of time, you will be subject to the 2 year rule, I believe.