Good backup degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eye

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an aspiring Optometry student and I've just finished first year in Science. The problem is that my GPA and grade achievement overall isn't that good. I'm pretty much a B student; my GPA this past year was 3.3. Knowing that most optometry schools require 3 years to a full degree (usually in Science), there's a good chance I won't make it in unless something happens.

So my question is, what's a good science degree to specialize in so I still get paid moderately well and have a future in? Maybe one that can increase my odds of getting into optometry school in graduate studies? FYI, I'm currently a student at the University of Alberta (in Canada), where I'm taking a general science degree - I can take a variety/any science courses I want until I declare my major in 3rd year. So far I've sampled a bit of everything, and can't decide on what specialization to prep for should I not get into optometry. My options are:

- Bioinformatics
- Cell Biotechnology
- Ecology
- Evolutionary Biology
- Microbiology
- Molecular Genetics
- Physiology/Developmental Biology
- Botany
- Cell Biology
- Chemistry
- Biochemistry
- Entomology
- Immunology
- Marine Biology
- Neuroscience
- Paletontology
- Pharmacology
- Zoology

I am eligible to specialize in Physics related majors and math sciences, but personally, I was never that good with math and numbers, so I'm not looking into those.

Members don't see this ad.

Eye, you sound exactly like me. Not sure to continue with chemistry or switch to biology (general biology or biomedical science).