Goldman Sachs Internship Vs. Research Junior Summer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BRepublic

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, this is a throwaway account and I am in no means trying to brag, I'm just really confused.

A little bit of background: I am a student concentrating in Applied Mathematics-Biology and Chemistry or Computer Science (figuring it out still) at Ivy League (Non HYP). I received an offer from Goldman Sachs to be an intern in Risk Division. The amount of money I would be making is nice and it would really help next summer. My GPA is 3.75-4.00 , and I do clinical volunteering at the pediatrics triage center, and serve on student gov, among other things (for the sake of anonymity)

However, I know junior year research is really important. So, I am really unsure of what to do here, if I should apply to Rockefeller/Mayo/Stanford research programs. I don't plan on taking a year or two off before going to med school, but would consider it if it meant taking GS full time, and I plan on taking the MCAT my junior spring, beginning of spring semester and apply for class of 22 admission. Any tips, advice, help on what I should do? Please offer some words of wisdom! Thanks guys!

Would this be a turn off for admissions, ie) selling your soul to the financial cogs of the world? I'm wondering if this is opening up more problems than it solves.

Happy to further elaborate if need be, just don't wanna overshare!

Members don't see this ad.

Take the internship imo. You won't get that kind of opportunity often and it'll be a good way to triple check you want medicine above other fields!

Reactions: 4 users
Hey, this is a throwaway account and I am in no means trying to brag, I'm just really confused.