going to the usa for medical school..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mspaic

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
have alot of people considered it?

the gpa cutoffs in some of the schools in ontario are redicilous..

i am currently in second year and i think i can pull off a gpa up to 3.7... but that doesnt even seem to be good enough for ontario

i look at some statistics for usa and see that their average accepted applicant had a gpa of about 3.45 ..!

i know that us international students would be at a disadvantage applying from canada, but i still figure we would have a better chance than we do here

what does everyone else think?

Members don't see this ad.

mspaic said:
have alot of people considered it?

the gpa cutoffs in some of the schools in ontario are redicilous..

i am currently in second year and i think i can pull off a gpa up to 3.7... but that doesnt even seem to be good enough for ontario

i look at some statistics for usa and see that their average accepted applicant had a gpa of about 3.45 ..!

i know that us international students would be at a disadvantage applying from canada, but i still figure we would have a better chance than we do here

what does everyone else think?

The thing is that there are no official cut-offs (i think) like in canadian school, where if u don't have more than the cut-off, they don't even look at your mcats...
So, I think there are more chances to go to an American Med school with a 3.7 than to an Ontario Med school.

It is true that many schools in the US have lower GPA / MCAT averages than Canadian ones, but these are usually state schools which do not accept Canadian students.