Going To Become a Neurosurgeon

Nascent

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've decided to become a neurosurgeon. Feel free to ask me for questions/advice.

Members don't see this ad.

justin-bieber-love-me-l-o.gif

Members don't see this ad :)
From 12/13/12:

I'm a soon-to-be pre-med student. Theoretically, what is the best possible resume to ensure my acceptance into medical school: what specific volunteer activities, clubs, and courses? (besides the basic reqs.) I've heard that studying for the MCAT is not useful until junior year; is this true, and should I have less volunteer work/courses during those latter years for more time to practice the MCAT? And, lastly, is a ~4.0 at a lower tier school valued more than a ~3.7 at a higher tier school?

:confused:

Did you go to St. James by any chance?

Members don't see this ad :)
what is the function of the fusiform gyrus?

That's a good question, neuro nephrons. I believe that there still is some controversy over the functions of the fusiform gyrus, but generally speaking, it controls distinct visuals such as the face or body and word recognition.

Do you have any questions?

I, like many other aspiring neurosurgeons, have a plethora of questions. It's almost a personality that comes with becoming a neurosurgeon: we must be students of life. I feel as I am always constantly questioning the world and it's surroundings, always trying to create the order from the chaos. It is an innate penchant that transcends the branches of science. In fact, without this incessant questioning, I'm afraid we would be otherwise steadfast in complacency and henceforth would lack progress that are so crucial to the developments that have, in recent years, unfolded within neuroscience, itself.