going back to school for a PharmD...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iphetamine

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is definitely the unpopular opinion/route. I graduated with a bpharm many years ago and I have a hard time finding ANYTHING out of the community setting. Not even casual/part time position at smaller community hospitals due to the lack of "clinical" experience. Hence, I've decided to undergo a post bachelor (non-traditional) PharmD program (while they last), hoping to broaden my expertise and widen my options. FYI: this is in Canada, so market varies from US/others.
  1. Is that a good step forward?
  2. What can I do to prepare before hand, in terms of pharmacotherapy and kinetics courses since that'll be the main focus. Books? Online courses?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I think that most people would agree with me on here by saying that is a pretty horrible idea. You might get a PharmD, but if you want to do anything in a clinical setting, you must have a PharmD plus an ever-growing list of certifications plus at least PY1 or PY2. You are sacrificing 50k on at least another year of pharmacy school plus at least one year of reduced income if not two. How much debt do you have now?

You might as well as take that 50k and learn to program or get a business degree and go into the healthcare business. But don't spend 50k to start late in a race that everyone is already losing.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)