GI Bill

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MSPK10

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a physician active duty in the Navy (HPSP scholarship) and
will be starting a civilian residency deferment. I will have 2 years of
active duty completed. I have heard that you can receive the GI bill
($12,000/year or so for 3 years) for civilian residency on top of your
civilian residency pay. I have not been able to find out any info about
this, including from the VA/GI bill office. Does anyone know any info about
this and if HPSP physicians are eligible? Does anyone know anyone that has
actually got the funding and how they did it? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

MSPK10 said:
I am currently a physician active duty in the Navy (HPSP scholarship) and
will be starting a civilian residency deferment. I will have 2 years of
active duty completed. I have heard that you can receive the GI bill
($12,000/year or so for 3 years) for civilian residency on top of your
civilian residency pay. I have not been able to find out any info about
this, including from the VA/GI bill office. Does anyone know any info about
this and if HPSP physicians are eligible? Does anyone know anyone that has
actually got the funding and how they did it? Thank you.