Getting into PA programs directly out of undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Namelessrd

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a senior in college (graduating in Dec 2017) and am currently preparing to apply to PA programs this cycle. I have read and been told that it is very uncommon for students to be accepted to PA programs directly after undergrad and I'm wondering if that is for any other reason other than those students usually don't have enough hours of HCE. If anyone could evaluate my stats and give me some insight on my likelihood of acceptance I would really appreciate it! I am also a bit confused about what is acceptable (and preferred) HCE. I have been working as an EMT since August 2015 and have accumulated approximately 1,500 hours. I have read that volunteer EMS is not as good as paid work because generally volunteers are just "errand boys." However, my entire EMS agency is a volunteer agency - no one is paid - and we provide BLS care (NOT interfacility transport) to my university campus, the surrounding area, and with the entire city's 911 response. We are a fully functional collegiate EMS agency in a large metropolitan city. So, I am wondering if PA programs will see that I am a volunteer and dismiss my HCE as insignificant. I am also the supervisor for quality assurance for this agency which will hopefully augment my application.
Would it benefit me to apply to schools with low HCE hours requirements (like 0-500) instead of schools that require 1,000-3,000 hrs?

Overall GPA: 3.54
Science GPA: 3.49
HCE hours: 1,500
GRE: have not taken it yet
Major: Biology
Minors: Chemistry, Spanish

Members don't see this ad.