Getting into optometry school with average grades

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Avgafterhs

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I’m a current third-year at UCLA and will be taking a gap year after graduation. My goal school is SCCO, but my science/major (psychobiology) GPA isn’t very strong - we’re talking right underneath 3.0. Basically, I’ve gotten Bs and B-s for most of my science courses. My overall GPA is only over 3.5 because of my As in my GE courses. Will this be a huge problem for getting into SCCO? And will a C on the transcript look really bad?

I will be taking the OAT this coming September, and I have relatively decent extracurricular activities that are related to the optometric profession.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I have similar stats and got into Western, SCCO, and Berkeley. I even had a scholarship extended from SCCO. I graduated from UCLA psychobiology with a cumulative 3.3 and a science 2.9. With SCCO they want to see a strong OAT. Study hard and I'm sure you'll be fine :) feel free to message me if you have any other questions!

Reactions: 1 user
Not to sound obtuse but isn’t that why most people end up applying to optometry? You should be a ok.

Members don't see this ad :)
Not to sound obtuse but isn’t that why most people end up applying to optometry? You should be a ok.

I really hope you’re not insinuating subpar grades lead “most people” to optometry. That comment does sound obtuse, and somewhat ignorant.

Reactions: 6 users
Hi,

I have similar stats and got into Western, SCCO, and Berkeley. I even had a scholarship extended from SCCO. I graduated from UCLA psychobiology with a cumulative 3.3 and a science 2.9. With SCCO they want to see a strong OAT. Study hard and I'm sure you'll be fine :) feel free to message me if you have any other questions!
Thank you!! That’s good to hear. Do you know how they view retaking classes?