Getting into Dermatology residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Suzanna

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

Since I do not know anyone personally who matched into dermatology I though I would look for some answers here.
I am a MS II DO student (this is not new school). My grades are so so, but there is still room for improvement in order to do well in the 3rd year! Soon I will be taking COMLEX/USMLE 1.
Here is what I would like to know from those of you who successfully matched recently or know anything on this subject:
-how to get a dermatology residency?
Can someone please write to me what are the requirements or anything needed to look competitive and to have a shot at getting ACGME residency? Can it be done in the 3rd and 4th year?? Is there enough time to still make it?
might seem silly to some but I really do not know much on this subject I would appreciate help from you guys!

Thanks in advance!

(for the record, I am also interested in ophthalmology, that's why I will be posting into ophthalmology forum as well)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Everyone!

Since I do not know anyone personally who matched into dermatology I though I would look for some answers here.
I am a MS II DO student (this is not new school). My grades are so so, but there is still room for improvement in order to do well in the 3rd year! Soon I will be taking COMLEX/USMLE 1.
Here is what I would like to know from those of you who successfully matched recently or know anything on this subject:
-how to get a dermatology residency?
Can someone please write to me what are the requirements or anything needed to look competitive and to have a shot at getting ACGME residency? Can it be done in the 3rd and 4th year?? Is there enough time to still make it?
might seem silly to some but I really do not know much on this subject I would appreciate help from you guys!

Thanks in advance!