getting a jump start at Organic Chemistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fullefect1

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
From what I have been reading Organic Chemistry is the most difficult pre-req that a pre-med takes for undergraduate classes. I am a freshman right now taking biology the first semester then starting my first semester of Inorganic next semester. Is there any way i can get a jump start and start memorizing certain aspects of Organic in the Summer? Is there any books that I could read that would give me a jump start for an A? Or should i just wait till I start taking the course, or at least until i finish my full year of inorganic?

Members don't see this ad.

Right now would be a bit too early to start studying for organic if you have yet to take inorganic (unless you took inorganic in high school and REALLY understood everything!)

What I did was take gen chem 1, genchem 2, and then I read parts of the book ahead of time for ochem. If I could do it again, I would have just gone into the course "blind" because it is not a difficult course if you put time into it.

Above all, I highly suggest NOT memorizing most things in ochem. I took ochem 1 year ago and avoided memorizing anything but a few very basic structures. Ochem is not easy at a big ten, its the conceptual learners who will get the really great grades unless you have some photographic memory and memorize every common starting product.

-Cantal

You have a ways to go before you need to worry about Organic.

Wait until the summer between general chem II and Organic I before looking at the material. It is not the major horrible class alot of people make it out to be. I found it no more hard than any of my other 300 level courses. Go into it with an open mind and just study hard and you should be fine.:cool:

Members don't see this ad :)