Georgetown vs Rush vs UCR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

majesty2

Reaction score
Hello everyone, after sifting through countless forums I come to you with my own dilemma. I have been blessed to receive three acceptances so far, and ask for your hopefully unbiased opinions on choosing one of these schools. I am a CA resident and hope to match back into CA in either general surgery, orthopedic surgery, or EM. I will most likely be funding my tuition fully through federal loans. While UCR is close to family and in-state tuition, I have decided to look past these benefits and choose the more highly ranked/competitive schools, although I am willing to hear your thoughts on this matter.

Georgetown
Pros
- Name recognition (highest rank)
- Great match list (especially ortho)
- Washington DC (prefer urban setting)
- Resonate with Jesuit philosophy, emphasis on community service
- P/F preclinical

Cons
- Tuition ($69k)
- Far from home
- Cold winters
- Class size ~200

Rush
Pros
- Emphasis on community service
- Loved interview experience and the collaborative/fun energy of student body
- Cheaper than Georgetown ($57k)
- Chicago is super cool
- Decently strong match list
- Class size ~144
- P/F preclinical

Cons
- Rank/research/reputation slightly lower due to no undergrad
- Far from home
- Even colder winters than DC
- PBL (I hear mandatory attendance is a waste of time)

Both of these options have been my absolute dream schools so I feel that I will be happy wherever I go. Given that both schools are far from home, match strongly, and face harsh winters, I believe it comes down to reputation vs tuition, with maybe school/city culture as a secondary consideration. I would also love to know more about the differences in hospital affiliations and how this might affect the clinical years. Please let me know your thoughts!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: