General question about accreditation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jmail

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am a bit lost, can you please help me out?
So if the school is listed as ""currently operational" on this website: World Directory of Medical Schools
it does not guarantee that its accredited in the US and a graduate of such a school will be allowed to become a doctor in the US.
then which website will tell you exactly which school is accredited?
I do not want to go to school for 6 years and then find out I am not eligible to take the USMLE because I am a graduate of a school that is not accredited in the US...

I am new to this whole medical school thing so I am sorry if its a dumb question and I hope what I am asking is making sense...
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Why don't you just tell us what school you're thinking about?

In any case, on that site find your school and then choose "Sponsor notes" and look at the ECFMG notes.

Why don't you just tell us what school you're thinking about?

In any case, on that site find your school and then choose "Sponsor notes" and look at the ECFMG notes.

for example:
1 school: School Detail
That school is not accredited in the US, correct? That means that if one graduates from that school they can NOT become physician in the US, correct?

BUT

2 school: School Detail
is accredited in the US, correct? Which means that if one graduates from that school then they can become a physician in the US, correct?

Thank you

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey guys,
I am a bit lost, can you please help me out?
So if the school is listed as ""currently operational" on this website: World Directory of Medical Schools
it does not guarantee that its accredited in the US and a graduate of such a school will be allowed to become a doctor in the US.
then which website will tell you exactly which school is accredited?