Geisinger Commonwealth vs Drexel

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

94ruski

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I've gotten admitted to GCSOM and have an upcoming interview at Drexel. As a PA resident, I'm basically picking between these two school at this point. I've heard some negative things about Drexel from browsing SDN, but I haven't seen Drexel compared with GCSOM really in depth anywhere. As it stands:

Geisinger:
Pros:
-affiliated with Geisinger medical center which is big and established in NE PA
- I enjoyed the general atmosphere during the interview, and the students I talked to seemed to really like it there
- Brand new building/facilities
- pretty good match list for a new school
- Student feedback and input seems to have a lot of influence based on what I gathered
- relatively small (108) class size

Cons:
-Not really established or prestigious since it's 10 years old
- In Scranton (which isn't that big a deal for me, but it's not as nice as Phili)
- Not sure what to think of third year hybrid longitudinal vs traditional rotations

Drexel:
Pros:
-Older and more established program
- in a major metropolitan center
- decent match list on the east coast
- international opportunities
- mulitple curriculum tracks
Cons:
- more expensive plus cost of living in philadelphia
- large ~250 class size
- new curriculum that doesn't have in person lectures (not sure about this)
- have heard that hospital affiliations are weaker especially when compared to the other med schools in philadeplphia

Obviously, my pros/cons list is limited because I didn't get to experience Drexel yet. I'm curious to hear what other users and current students who have more information about these two schools might be able to give feedback on. What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Personally the not in person lectures is a big turn off for drexel (of course this is only my opinion)