Future outlook of PM&R

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChicagoKid

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a M3 trying to decide between Family and PM&R. I was recently told that if I want to go into PM&R then I would have to be really open minded to moving my family because job opportunities are becoming scarce, especially in the midwest. I would really like to stay in the midwest, especially Chicagoland surrounding areas. I was wondering for those of you with experience, is this true for people without fellowship training? Also, what is the general starting salary for a general physiatrist? Online information tends to be all over the place. If you have any suggestions for online reliable resources, please let me know.

Members don't see this ad.

hey chi kid
I am a 2nd year resident at an easy coast school but I have a 4th year resident who is from the Midwest. Missouri actually. She has told me that she is getting offers for inpatient and outpatient for between 200 and 240 starting. From what I have seen and heard the market is actually the best now in the Midwest. Most people want to be on the coasts. look up job listings on AAPMR or practicelink. There are tons of jobs in the Midwest Right now. Maybe Not in 6 years. Who knows? I also thought about family med but decided I would like to be an expert at something and not a whipping boy for the entire field of Medicine. Good luck to you. We just did our rank list this week. Things are getting tough for those applying.

Reactions: 2 users
I haven't heard of residents having much difficulty finding jobs. But the issue is going to be there are just fewer PM&R jobs in any given area. With FM, considering both the shortage of FM docs and the fact that the population just needs more FM docs per x number of people, you can pretty much pick and choose where you want to live/work.