This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Heroes23

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I was wondering about a few things in the next ten to twenty years of medicine. I am an undergraduate student, Molecular Biology Major, and hoping to pursue medicine in the future. This will be my last year, (I have taken my MCAT and have everything set to go). I am deciding on my next years classes and how they can contribute to Medicine.

First off, throughout Undergrad, I wasn't a very good lab student, I did reserach for over a year with two publications, I took more lab courses than intended, and did an internship in cancer biology at a medical school. However, unfortunately, I did not have any care for basic science labs or research; I didn't enjoy them, or put in as much effort as most of the people did. I took those courses and research jobs to see if I can do this type of research during my life as a doctor. I ended up disliking it and really don't want to do any more basic science research now or in the future; it just isn't for me. I believe it was because I had no interest in pursuing a career in basic science research or by running gels or PCR machines, or anything like that in my life. I just have no interest in it whatsoever. Granted, I have not pursued clinical research, but am more in favor of that specific type in the future. I feel that classes in Bioinformatics, Genomics, and classes related to computational biology can be a huge plus as a background because of how medicine is changing in the future with new technological advances.