Future fellowship requirement for inpatient pediatrics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gentlebalogna

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am a first-year medical student interested in inpatient pediatrics. Not something I would have expected before school, and I still might change my mind, but I really like it!

I keep hearing that, increasingly, a fellowship will be needed to be competitive to practice inpatient peds. I have to say, adding on a fellowship for something that's currently done with just a residency does not sound very appealing. It's also unclear if that will come with a pay boost, since peds is not a particularly lucrative specialty.

Right now, my dream job would be at a community Children's hospital in a mid-sized city on the West Coast. There are other academic children's hospitals in my state, but I like the mid-sized city I currently live in and would love to return here to practice after residency.

Where do you see this requirement going in the future? Will it only really affect academic centers, or will it trickle into community hospitals too?

Members don't see this ad.

Right now, with pediatric hospitalist medicine (PHM) fellowships still being pretty scarce and the demand for inpatient hospitalist DJM the community being high, in the short and medium term I don’t think it will be a strict requirement for community hospitals. It likely will be required for academic centers. Of course none of us have a crystal ball :)

Right now, with pediatric hospitalist medicine (PHM) fellowships still being pretty scarce and the demand for inpatient hospitalist DJM the community being high, in the short and medium term I don’t think it will be a strict requirement for community hospitals. It likely will be required for academic centers. Of course none of us have a crystal ball :)