From an Optometrist not actually pushing for Surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qcy07

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I bet I speak for many optometrists who are too busy, or too ambivalent to comment, when I say that scalpel and/or laser surgery is not something I want. But can any ophthalmologist on this forum please tell me why we can not even practice non-surgical medical primary eye care? Is it possible that any ophthalmologist on this forum would concede that we as a profession have had to beg, and plead and grovel for the right to expand our scope and therefore training over the last 2 decades. Just as our associations can be out of touch with the mainstream of optometry, are all ophthalmologists in agreement with their associations in their effort to stop any and all perceived incursion into "OMD territory"?

Can an ophthalmologist help me understand why if I studied right along side dentists in all pharmacology, anatomy, physiology, biochem, etc. classes. If I graduated from a top tier undergraduate program and then from four years of doctoral level post graduate eduction just as dentists do. If I took three separate day long national board exams, a rigorous day long multi-proctored clinical skills evaluation, a long patient assessment and management evaluation, a state licensing examination. Why can't most ODs treat POAG in California, yet across the state line in Nevada optometrists are treating glaucoma patients today. Why does a dentist have an A or B category DEA license and I have a mid-level M DEA designation. Do optometry students lack suffficient intelligence to learn how to provide primary medial eye care in four years and yet dentists in four years can provide all medical oral care.