FQHC what are the limitations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bloxxeeey

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm considering looking into FQHC for positions but wondering if they have any option to do any surgical work? Coming out of residency I would like to obtain ABFAS Certification if possible.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm considering looking into FQHC for positions but wondering if they have any option to do any surgical work? Coming out of residency I would like to obtain ABFAS Certification if possible.
I have some knowledge of them. Theyre all different from what I understand.

They typically pay flat rate salary. If you negotiate properly you can work for flat salary at FQHC and then collect surgical income on the side under their insurance.

But you will only be able to operate on FQHC patients covered under their insurance.

Ex: If you are working at the FQHC clinic and patient wants bunion surgery you dont get paid for any office visits (because they are almost always salary for clinic) but you should negotiate to get paid for the bunion as thats on your own time.

Any non FQHC patient you operate on is fine but you need to carry your own malpractice insurance. Also need to pay tail on any non FQHC patients if you leave which is very expensive so its not worth going out of the FQHC to find patients (Ex: taking call at ER).

They’re kinda like a non-op VA gig. Some have pretty decent salaries and standard benefits (malpractice covered via Tort protection). I know of one DPM making high 200s. Their salaries are open knowledge:

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
So what if a patient needs to be admitted and an I&D? Am I able to carry forth that care or not?
Also let's say I'm working part time at a FQHC and part time elsewhere can I operate on these patients with my own malpractice then? From what DYK343 is saying that is possible.