Found a dead guy in our parking lot

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

quickfeet

Smooth Operator
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent med school grad scheduled to start residency in a few weeks. Two days ago, I was walking to the parking lot with my wife and kids and found a guy sprawled out in the middle of the parking lot near our car. I gave my kid over to my wife and told her to go back inside our apartment (we just moved into a supposedly safe area of town but we are right next to a fairly popular restaurant which we share a parking lot with).

Now when I saw the guy laying there staring up at the sky and not breathing, I hesitated for quite a long time, as the guy seemed to have some shiny object in one of his hands, which I thought was a firearm (turned out it was just a vaporizer/e-cigarette of some kind). Another bystander happened on the scene and I asked if she would call 9-11. I let 2-3 mins pass before walking up to him, and only very slowly. The guy was young maybe 30s or so. The skin on his hands were already mottled and he looked pretty pale. By the time I started doing chest compressions, it was 3-4 mins after I first spotted him laying there.