Foreign/International Student: Should I redo Undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted520847

As a foreign student, I obviously have challenges whilst thinking about applying to a US medical school. I did my undergrad in Australia and while my grades were great at first, I failed a few courses as I could not attend the exams on my last semester in school. I got married to an American and I am planning my move to US soon on a greencard. I have always planned to do medicine and I do not want to let that dream die now that I am moving to US. Now, knowing that AMCAS does not accept foreign transcripts, is it going to help me to redo my undergrad in the US? Will my foreign grades count toward my GPA too? If yes, how so?
I will obviously be applying to medical school as a resident so please give me my best options. I will have to do very many courses in school anyway so doing a post Bacc would also take me about 3 years, seeing as my 3-year Aussie degree did not cover most of the per-requisites required in American unis. Please advice me on my best options as I plan my route to medical school. I am currently only 27 and quite prepared for the long road ahead. Any advice will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

here's what I found on the AMCAS site
https://services.aamc.org/AMCAS2_2010/WebApp/Help/WebHelp/ForeignCoursework.htm
https://services.aamc.org/AMCAS2_2010/WebApp/Help/WebHelp/Transcript_Exception_Request.htm

Unless you went to a school outlined on the first page, then you'd have to redo your prerequisites at a US school. Your GPA from that school wouldn't be counted on your AMCAS. Hopefully after that's done, you'll be a citizen and wouldn't have to worry about applying as a permanent resident.

https://services.aamc.org/AMCAS2_2010/WebApp/Help/WebHelp/Transcript_Exception_Request.htm