foreign graduate pgy1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharma88

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow pharmacists!

i was wondering if some of u can inform me on the possibility of landing a pgy1 residency through the match system (preference to clinical pharmacy) as a foreign graduate (licensed to practice / passed the NAPLEX) any of u came across such cases?

Any sort of help is more than welcome

Have a gd one !

Members don't see this ad.

I can only speak for my system, they do not sponsor any visas. I would contact the sites to see if they do.

thanks for replying !! i forgot to mention that i am a US citizen.. i asked the question because i studied in switzerland... and pharmacists there graduate with a masters degree and not a pharmaD !

Members don't see this ad :)
Good! I hear that the visa sponsorship is a nightmare to obtain. Please take a look at the requirements to apply for each residency site. Not sure how many will recognize the master's equivalent. Also, you would need to obtain that state's intern license and will need to be fully licensed ASAP after graduation (the site will pressure you), which will have certain requirements.

Here's the section from the Califorinia BoP's site pertaining to you (for obtaining an intern license):
"A graduate of a foreign pharmacy school who has obtained certification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC).

NOTE: You will not be issued an intern registration until the board has received written verification from the FPGEC that you have obtained this certification. (This process will take up to 12 weeks for the FPGEC

to provide your results to the board.)"

And if you want to be a licensed pharmacist: