for those with kids.. handing tough rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

epsilonprodigy

Physicist Enough
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a second-year med student, and have a nine-year old. I'm curious to know what others with kids have done during those rotations where you pre-round before 5 am and end your days late in the evening (surgery, OB.) My husband has to leave for work before 6 am, and we generally haven't found any sitters that are able to take kids early enough to accommodate this. For now, it's a non-issue because I almost never have to leave early enough for it to be a problem, and can get him off to school. We will most likely start allowing him to be home after school for 1-1.5 hours after school by himself once he turns 10 (in compliance with local laws about this) but I am just not convinced he'll be able to get himself up and out the door for school. He's a dawdler like his mama when it comes to getting out the door :whistle:

Oh, and obviously we'd rather not break the bank in the process. Thoughts? Experiences?

Members don't see this ad.

Ugh. I could write a book on this. Mainly because I've tried so many different things

I'm going to PM you & anyone else interested.

Ugh. I could write a book on this. Mainly because I've tried so many different things

I'm going to PM you & anyone else interested.