For Students Accepted To Nova!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

subedude

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, for those of you who have been accepted to, or at least gotten interviews at NOVA, I have a few questions:

1) Degree or Not
2) GPA & OAT
3) Experience

I ask because I'm a sophomore at UF and I really really want to go to NOVA after my junior year(meaning I won't finish my degree), and I just want a feel for what others have done in my position. I plan on taking the OATs this summer, and applying as soon as possible pretty much. I currently have a 3.52 and if all goes well, I'll have around a 3.6 at the end of this semester (I'm taking organic 1 and bio 2 and they're going pretty well). I'm also going to take organic 2 next semester along with anatomy and physiology, and next fall I'm going to take biochem and microbio. Physics I'm going to get out of the way this summer at a community college back home hopefully..but I'll probably only have up to physics 1 for the OAT. I'm also interning next semester, like 8 hours a week I think. So, any responses and advice would be greatly appreciated..thanks in advance..

Members don't see this ad.

you do not need a degree. In fact, after your second year at NOVA they give you a B.S. in vision science. So after your 4 years of optometry school at NOVA you would have B.S degree AND doctorate. Hope this helps!!!

wow really?? a B.S. and an O.D.? i didn't know that, i've always thought you just get an OD, and that the BS/OD thing is a thing they did in the old days. anyway, do all schools give a BS/OD? thanks.

Members don't see this ad :)
im not 100% sure but i think nova is the only school that gives a B.S and an O.D. When i talked to Fran from nova, she told me that after completion of your second year a B.S in vision science will be given.