Foolish to consider a carib med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EFesta77

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quick question guys. I am an older student (28..so not that old) that is planning to apply to med school in the coming year. I had been set on only applying to US allopathic schools, but recently I began looking into SGU and Ross. One of the main reasons I am considering one of these schools is because I would be able to skip the lag year if I were to be accepted. The only thing I have left to do is one more science course and the MCAT so I would be planning on the Fall of 06. My credentials are strong. I have a high undergrad gpa, a phd in neuroscience, a long list of publications and awards and so forth (not boasting, just giving a general description). I'm confident I would be accepted somewhere in the US when I apply. Would it be foolish of me to consider a carib med school? Should I just wait out the year and attend school in the US?

Btw, I'm not knocking carib med schools, I have a friend who attended Ross and loved it. He is actually influencing my decision. I'm just looking for some objective advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Those sound like some pretty kickass credentials. I mean c'mon, you've got a freakin' phd for God sakes! I don't think you'd have a lot of difficulty getting into a US allopathic school. So, if I were in your situation, i'd apply to schools inside the US. As far as the lag year goes, you can always work at a lab or something.

It all depends if you can stand waiting a year longer.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yea, the year wait is what will drive me crazy. I suppose patience is a virtue. :D

EFesta77 said: