This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Will a pass in FM hurt my chances at good programs?

• No, it shouldn't hurt you

Votes: 13 54.2%
  • It's important, but the rest of your application will make up for it

Votes: 7 29.2%
  • Yes, it will raise eyebrows

Votes: 3 12.5%
  • I don't know

Votes: 1 4.2%

• Total voters

PickleRick19

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a third year medical student who will be applying for residency in FM this coming fall. First, a bit of background:
- 245 step 1
- Pass in family medicine core clerkship, barely missing HP (good comments on eval, pretty good shelf. I take full responsibility for the grade, but I also think having the rotation very early in the year may have played a role)
- 3 high pass, 3 honors in my other core clerkships (good comments on evals)
- Hoping to have pretty good LORs
- Mostly HP, some H years 1-2
- Decent ECs (clubs, local clinical volunteering, mission trips, etc)
- 1 publication
- Wasn't able to schedule a FM AI before ERAS is due but got a regular FM elective

I realized while doing my FM rotation that I loved FM. Normally, I wouldn't post about this but I have a passion for FM and want to see what other people think. I know FM isn't as competitive to match into as other fields, but will my clerkship grade close certain doors in FM or make it difficult to match into the more competitive FM programs across the country (i.e. unopposed or highly desired programs)? I realize there are no definitive "best" programs out there and there are many very good programs that might fit me.

Full responses are appreciated, but I added a poll too.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would say you're almost a sure thing to match, assuming you don't completely cock up every interview you have.