Finding Strength

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MayJuneJulie

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Once again posting here because no one in my life can relate to what I'm going through. I didn't get into a Clinical Psyc PhD program this year. I am about to graduate from undergrad this May, and I have been working hard for the last 4 years towards acquiring research experience, clinical experience, obtaining high scores on the GRE, and keeping a high GPA. All while working a part time job 25+ hours a week every week of the semester. I thought I was doing everything right and yet I still didn't accomplish my goal of going straight into a PhD after undergrad. I know this is typical; clinical psyc PhD programs are the most competitive doctoral programs and I know so many qualified applicants don't get in. I was so ecstatic when I got one interview, and the interview day went really well and I thought that I was a great fit for the program and I thought my POI felt the same. And then I find out that I'm not even the first or second alternate.

I've applied to a couple of Master's programs but now I'm not even sure about being offered a spot in either of those. I still intend on obtaining my doctorate but I am so scared that I am once again gonna waste $600+ and too many hours on the application process just to find out that I once again did not make the cut. I know I'm just whining and that countless other individuals have went through this, but for those of you who didn't make it in the first time and later secured a spot, please tell me about your experience. I really would like to know how other people cope with this disappointment and still strive to achieve their dreams.

Members don't see this ad.