This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WhatsurdilEMMA

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on the forum even though I've been a long-time reader, so please forgive me if I unknowingly break any forum rules. I could really use some advice on my particular circumstances and where to go from hear. Thank you in advance for reading my story:

I am going into my senior year at a university in my hometown in the southeastern US. I've wanted to be pursue medicine since high school, but only really got a sense of what that meant in college. I went to a local two-year college first, where I completed some pre-med coursework, and then transferred to my local university. Things haven't exactly been going downhill from there, but they haven't been great either.

I have a 3.5 cGPA, and I'm not too sure about my sGPA (B's in chem, B in orgo 1, B- in orgo 2, C+ in physics 1, B in physics 2, A's in bio 1&2, B+ in biochem). The problem is, my extracurriculars are underwhelming and I don't feel particularly inspired as I'm writing my personal statement. I've volunteered at my local hospital 200+ hours since freshman year, and I had some leadership roles at my two-year college. At my university, I'm still volunteering in the hospital, and I have an internship in the infection control department where I'm working on research projects with that team of physicians and nurses. I also did 50+ hours of physician shadowing this summer, as part of a course. I know this doesn't seem like a lot for an almost-senior to have.