Feeling incompetent in PT school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kinesio19

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second semester student in DPT program and I've been doing okay so far. A mixture of As and Bs and I haven't had to remediate anything yet when a lot of my classmates have. In my program everything you do must be an 80 or above or it has to be retaken (one chance per exam/assignment). The thing I am really struggling with are practicals. I have barely passed my last two practicals, and today my instructor told me that he is not going to be as lenient in the future. Even though I didn't fail the practical I was basically given a warning that I'm cutting it close. I feel like I practice well and understand the material, but I get extremely nervous and I am shy as it is. Even when I get the 'nicer' instructors I am still intimidated, and we have one instructor that will pretty much berate you and grill you the entire time. What can I do to be more confident and competent in PT school? I want to just grow a pair and be confident, ask questions and learn. But sometimes I feel like the instructors think I'm not going to be a good PT or I will fail out of my first clinical. I recognize that I am probably blowing it up. But seriously, should I quit? Am I being too sensitive? Has anyone else ever felt this way?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Kinesio19,