Fair salary for newly graduated ophthalmologist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dapathguy

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am just wondering what is a fair offer for a comprehensive ophthalmologist that just graduated? I know this varies by location, practice type and lifestyle choices. I am just wondering what I should expect if I am willing to work hard and live anywhere, would a ballpark figure be 200-250k? Or less since the M.D. in question is a newly graduated ophthalmologist?

Thanks in advance, and Merry Christmas to all!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
There’s others on here that can answer this better than I can since I am still a resident.

The salary is good to great but starting salary has always been notoriously low. Newly grad comprehensive/general ophthalmologists can expect between 200-300k starting salary for private practice (for hospital based practice, it's usually higher but lower earning potential). The advice I get is that don’t let your starting salary numbers fool you! The better question is what can I expect my compensation to be in 3-5 years as partner. General ophthalmologists usually average anywhere between 300-500k.

Glaucoma will have higher starting salary and so will retina. Retina continues to be the highest paying subspecialty. John Pinto, the leading expert on the business of ophthalmology, has an incredibly informative lecture series on Iowa Eyerounds.

Mid career salaries for various specialties:

General/Cornea/Glaucoma/Refractive: ~300-500k (high volume cataract, refractive, MIGS can make >700k). If you are willing to work hard, you can make more (~millions). Glaucoma is in high demand currently and they sometimes have higher starting salary offers.