Failed Step 2 CS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

freakingoutStep2CS

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just found out I failed step 2 cs. I am a US grad with otherwise good step scores, decent grades who is applying to a very competitive residency. What the f$($# do I do now? Am I totally toast? i took my own school's version of the CS two days prior and did fine, and I thought this one went okay. I struggled a little on one of the cases but I really didn't think I was going to fail. I failed the ICE portion, and I am thinking it was the SP portion since my notes were okay.
The only thing I thought was weird was there weren't many simulated physical exam findings as far as I could tell. I had one patient with labored breathing and one with limited range of motion but that was pretty much it.
I am just so upset and frustrated. What can I even do about this? I had already uploaded my Step 2 CK and step 1 scores to ERAS so nobody has to see my score before interviews. But I still need to pass this thing, as well as figure out how to explain this. I just wish I had a better idea of what I did wrong. I looked at the example patient notes, and I think mine are pretty similar. Maybe it was the differential diagnosis? The SP checklists? I just don't know.

Members don't see this ad.

Don't release it now. Retake ASAP and pass it. If programs require it for ranking, only release the score after you pass it (assuming you pass it prior to rank lists are due). If programs require it only prior to your start date and not for ranking, then keep quiet until after the match. I think you'll be fine, especially since you already released both step 1 and 2CK. But if programs ask you about CS on interviews (I think few would) you should be honest. Otherwise don't volunteer the info if possible.

Reactions: 1 user