Failed Comlex III by 1 point!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pathical

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm now a 3rd Year Pathology Resident, and I've just discovered that I have failed this stupid exam for the 2nd time! This time I got a 74, and 338. I feel like I've studied everything, I felt like I knew the answers for the most part . . . except the ones with multiple answers, or no answers (the comlex classics) ANYWAY, I'm mentally, emotionally and financially exhausted with this stupid test. I did well on steps 1 and 2 (>500) no problems and passed both on first try with very little studying. Now this stupid thing comes along and is giving me the lowest scores ever... (first try, 238 - 70)

The worst part is that I actually studied harder for this thing the second time than perhaps step 1 the first time!

My question is (keep in mind Pathology Residency doesn't help the "shoot from the hip" thinking format, or "guess what I'm thinking" format that comlex seems to reward)... but, besides put myself in the box of a FM doc who lives in the boonies... What else can I do to change my approach to answering these questions? I know the lack of a traditional intern year is hurting me and I respect that, however, [most often] I do not feel my knowledge base is the issue here. I don't want to sound conspiratorial, but I'm starting to think I'm being graded differently than others because I didn't go "primary care" or whatever. Silly I know but I just.... ??? Uuuhg!

"Kid walks into a room. The most likely diagnosis is?" LOL

Members don't see this ad.