Experience with VCA and the Mentorship Program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Springs10808

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a fourth year veterinary student currently in the process of interviewing at a VCA hospital in my area for an emergency veterinarian position. I am not very far into the interview process and still don't have a lot of details, but I am very impressed so far with the salary and hours mentioned as well as the fact I'd get to participate in a mentorship program rather than getting thrown immediately into the deep end. From what I've gathered, the emergency-focused mentorship program is new, but I know a GP mentorship program has existed for a while. I was wondering what people's experiences working as a veterinarian for VCA have been, especially when it comes to either the mentorship program or, in general, an emergency position. I understand that it's going to vary widely with each individual hospital, but I want some idea of what I would be getting myself into. I've seen some pretty bitter reviews on sites like Glassdoor and Indeed, but almost everyone on those sites is a tech/animal care assistant/receptionist, and there is also the reporting bias that people are more likely to go out of their way to report on their experiences if they are unhappy. I wanted a more realistic picture of what the vet experience is like.

I was also wondering what to expect regarding the interview process as a vet student. I am just starting to interview for clinics so I don't really know what to expect, but I'm a little intimidated by the prospect of getting tested on my knowledge in the interview (which is dumb, I know, but it is what it is).

Members don't see this ad.

Bumping! I'm a third year and considering taking the same route as you so am curious as to how your experience goes and what people have to say :)