This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prehealthboi

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a prospective dental student and have been on the pre-med/pre-dental fence for a while now. I am going to start shadowing a general dentist next week but after doing some research on dentistry, I am starting to consider some other factors as in the demand and lifestyle of a general dentist---in specific the business aspect of this field. I eventually would like to open my own practice one day, (however I know many go into corporate dentistry) but I am wondering as a general dentist, the limitations of my field, even with certain CE courses I could take. In addition, I saw someone mentioning that the "golden age of dentistry" is over because of the increasing competition amongst dentists/practices (practices within a mile of each other) and lower reimbursement rates from insurance companies. I'm not sure how true this is, but I started to ponder realistically about how often an average person may need a root canal, filling, or crown procedure, etc. versus the biannual checkup because growing up, I always had decent oral care so I could never properly observe what dentists actually did growing up. Essentially, what I'm saying is I don't want to go into a field where the demand is dying or even where the reimbursement/compensation is becoming stagnant or worse and worse for new dentists trying to practice. I do not want to spend 4 years in dental school and residency, coming out with debt and struggling to make a high enough income (with paying off the debt, etc.) or have a successful practice/engaging day to day work ethic--(which is why enhancing my scope of practice through CE would be ideal as I would have more diversity and room to practice) I just want to know some of your personal experiences and recommendations you may have for me before I 100% commit to this field as yes one may have a desire and passi