Exit strategy - more consulting questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zhacksack019

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there's a ton of these threads on here discussing consulting as an exit strategy, but I have some specific questions that haven't really been answered. I have about 5 years of real engineering experiences before I decided to apply to med school and am currently a 3rd year. I'll be 31 by the time I finish med school and I just feel like there's so much to life I still haven't experienced yet. I'm single, good with numbers, and actually love the road warrior life (done it for a couple of weeks as an engineer), so I'm really looking into consulting right now. Would you guys be able to answer these questions? I haven't really found these answers anywhere. I really appreciate it!

1. If I go into consulting straight after finishing residency, how hard would it be to go back to clinical medicine after a couple of years in consulting? I really want to go into consulting, but it's a bit soulless. Medicine, although is in a serious state of decline, is still so much more rewarding than hotels and spreadsheets.

2. If I go into consulting after 5 years of experience as an attending, would I still be at the same level as a new MBA grad? I understand if you go into consulting right after med school without residency, you might be at the same level as a new MBA grad, but what about those who finish residency and for those with with a couple years of real work experience?

3. I went to my state school for undergrad and currently go to a low-ranked med school (top 100). I know consulting usually picks from the top MBA schools. How hard would it be for me to get into Mckinsey with these stats?

4. Most people leave consulting within 2 to 5 years due to burnout, travel, etc. Are there a lot of great exit opportunities for MDs without MBAs after they leave?