Exercise Science/Kinesiology Majors must read

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sierra54

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think this would be a good article for any high school or college student considering a degree in exercise science, kinesiology or exercise physiology. Universities will not tell these students that they are not terminal degrees and unless they get into PT school, take classes to become an athletic trainer, or get their doctorate and work for a university, these are essentially useless degrees.

I graduated with a BS in Exercise Science w/ a concentration in athletic training, then got a MS in Exercise Science in Exercise Science with an applied biomechanics concentration and will be starting PT school in June. Along this road, I have seen so many students graduate with a non-terminal degree and end up working as personal trainers making squat. Several PT's I have worked with agree that if they didn't get into PT school, their BS degree would be useless.

Here is a link to the article: http://faculty.css.edu/tboone2/asep/LanguageOfProfessionalismInExercisePhysiology-3.doc

Members don't see this ad.

I think this would be a good article for any high school or college student considering a degree in exercise science, kinesiology or exercise physiology. Universities will not tell these students that they are not terminal degrees and unless they get into PT school, take classes to become an athletic trainer, or get their doctorate and work for a university, these are essentially useless degrees.