Exactly how much does being a science major help on the MCAT?

Gallix23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Once again I am going through an internal struggle with what I want to do with my life :rolleyes: I got accepted into college as a Bio major, mainly because my main goal is pre-med and I figure it'd help me the most with everything.

However, I have been playing music my entire life; I'm a guitarist, a drummer, and I sing here and there. I've taken music classes in high school and aced them just for fun to break up my day, and it just donned on me that I could major in music in college. It'd give me something to fall back on in case med school doesn't work out, and it would make me stand out from the applicant pool...right?

That's one side of my thoughts, and then the other side is battling back saying I need to stick with bio and focus on science and everything to give myself the best shot at the MCAT and everything else. At my university, Music is a very flexible major, so I shouldn't have a problem fitting in science classes. My uni has a built in co-op program as well, so I'd be able to co-op in both the hospital and music related places.

Do you guys think that switching my major would be a good idea? I'm so torn and stressed right now it's horrible, so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

All the stuff on the MCAT is covered in the pre-reqs. The upper level classes may help but they definitely aren't necessary. I'm not a "science" major, and I was able to understand all the material. It may take a little bit more effort in your prep, but it's definitely not enough of an advantage to force yourself into a major you don't want to do.

Do what major would make you happy. I've heard music's a pretty tough and subjective major, but if you love it, go for it.

Last edited: