ERAS. Step 2CK Issues. Appreciate any advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LaurieDonks

Reaction score
I'm a 4th year medical student in low-tier school on the East Coast getting ready for the upcoming ERAS application.

My issues:
-I have a very low Step 1 Score
-Per recommendation from school advisers, I'm in the middle of a couple of sub-I's and electives right now so that they could be talked about on my MSPE.
-Because of Sub-Is, my dedicated Step 2CK studying time isn't until middle of August, with CK currently scheduled in the middle of September.

I was told that I did not need my Step 2CK before ERAS opens because the MSPE isn't ready until October 1st. However, after reading things here, I'm not so sure if that was true since some PDs seem to look at apps right on September 15th.

It's way to late to reschedule my Step2CK to get my score in time. My Step2CK right now is estimated to have the score released on the first Wednesday of October. I can theoretically schedule my Step2CK one week earlier so the estimated release will be the last week of September.

With all that, what should I do with my ERAS application?
1) Submit on September 15th even with my terrible Step 1 score and without a Step 2CK score
2) Keep my CK date, and submit everything on October 3rd.
3) Move up my CK date. Have one less week of studying. But I'll have my score before MSPE is released. So my app would fully be 100% by October 1st with the MSPE.

I'm really anxious and I don't know what to do. I feel like I made a huge mistake scheduling my Sub-Is this early.

FTR, I'm planning on applying to Family Med.

Appreciate anything you can tell me.

Members don't see this ad.