ERAS Experiences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kittycat_642

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I have a question about ERAS experiences. Are you all including everything since and including college? I'm listing all the research stuff, but I'm not sure about everything else. For instance . . .

*I worked in the kitchen for a year during college.
*I worked at a cafe for 2 years and then managed it my 3rd year of college.
*I was an RA for 2 years in college.
*I temped at a bank for a few months bewteen graduate school and my first real job.

I think some of these were important when applying to med school, but now they seem like so long ago. (I started college in 1992.)

Thanks for your input.

Kittycat

Members don't see this ad.

I am applying this year...and I don't know if this is the right thing...but I left off a crapload of stuff. I graduated from college in 1994 and worked a million jobs between 1994 and 2002. I only left things on there that were interesting or pertinent to medicine....I mean really I worked at 3 different coffee shops and was a secretary for 4 different temp agencies...do they really care? I don't feel like I am trying to decieve anyone through ommission and I don't think that any programs will see it that way...if say, one of my interviewers purchased a grande latte from me in 1996 and notices that PJ's isn't listed on my experiences. Of course the safest thing is to put every single experience on there no matter how small.
BTW, I absolutely left off working in the kitchen my first year of college I totally forgot about it until I read your post!