ERAS and USMLE score reporting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ecf1975do

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi there.. i am a 3rd yr DO student and was wondering if others can help me clarify my question.. I am interested in applying for anesthesia next year. I did very well on COMLEX 1 but not well on USMLE 1. I did pass but my score is nothing to brag about. I was wondering if I could withhold my score when applying. I have heard that I can only report my comlex score. WOuld the programs know that I took the USMLE if I withheld it? Has anyone been in this situation? WOuld you recommend me taking the USMLE step 2?
If i do very well on that can I only report that one? i am just confused. I dont want doors to be shut for me due to my decison to take the USMLE....

Members don't see this ad.

As I recall the ERAS application asks you when you took Step 1, when you took or plan to take Step 2, and when you took COMLEX. You would actually have to lie on that question to hide your score, always a bad thing to get caught doing (not to mention do.) The "withhold scores" option is really meant for Step 2. So say its Sept 1st and I'm putting in my ERAS app. I took Step 1 a year ago and I'm planning to take Step 2 in November. I would check the box that says withhold scores and that would mean that I could see my step 2 score and then decide if I wanted to release it or not. Keep in mind, that the discerning residency program may notice that you had indicated that you planned to take Step 2 in November and ask you about that.

So, in theory, you could never mention that you took the USMLE and programs would never know and probaby wouldn't ask you about it. If they saw your COMLEX score they probably wouldn't even notice. If you have a moral problem with that you might try rocking Step 2.