ENT-facial plastics in big cities?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

md_doc

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a current medical student with an interest in ENT and a particular interest in facial plastic surgery. I have rotated on ENT and definitely enjoy it and also noticed that a lot of current residents are going into facial plastic surgery fellowships. My question is how competitive is it to make it as an ENT trained facial plastic surgeon in big cities (mainly NY or LA) since there seems to be an abundant of them already?

I know there is stiff competition for a finite number of patients (from plastic surgeons, derm, oculoplastic, OMFS, etc). But anyone know how tough it is to make it in such cities? Starting salaries? Salaries once established? Hard to gauge this information in my current situation.

I'm also interested in another surgical subspecialty, urology. Clearly, ENT and uro have lots of similarities...but was wondering how you think urology compares to ENT-facial plastics in terms of demand, salaries, etc in big cities?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a current med student who is also interested in ENT as well. In my research, it seems that most training programs are in large cities. However, most states do have at least one program. I do know that job outlooks (salary, competition, etc) are better in less populated states especially ones that are growing rapidly (ND, CO, AZ, NV to name a few). Could you elaborate on why "big cities" are important to you? Typically these are the worst places to practice medicine (overhead, insurance, cost of living, etc).