EMT-B with a strong desire for emergency medicine, torn between becoming a physician or paramedic

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Physician or EMS?

• Physician

Votes: 9 100.0%
  • Paramedic/Firefighter

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Geomamaearth

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
About me: 25 years old male. I'm an EMT-B, where I work IFT transport part time, and as a medical assistant in an urgent care. I have my bachelor's in Exercise Science, and absolutely 0 student debt.

I'm very drawn towards Emergency Medicine. I really like the idea of becoming a doctor, especially after working in the urgent care. Initially I wanted to become a PA, but I learned that their scope of practice in the ER is very limited compared to the The scope of practice, the depth of clinical knowledge, the autonomy, job security and salary of a doctor. I don't necessarily feel as though I need to be "The boss", and I know health care is a team effort. And I'm a bit concerned about the long road ahead to become a physician (I'm looking to be around 35-37 by the time I finish residency training, assuming no fellowship).

I would need to finish up my pre-reqs for medical school (2 semesters worth), take the MCAT, and I will be eligable to apply in 2018. Ideally, I would begin in 2019 (at 26-27 years old).